CrashPediatric Surgeons of Phoenix provides full time trauma coverage to Arizona’s only ACS Verified Level 1 Pediatric Trauma Center. The Level I Trauma Center at Phoenix Children’s Hospital is Arizona’s premier site for the evaluation, stabilization, treatment, and care of children who have experienced a traumatic injury.  It is the only trauma center in Arizona exclusively for children, and the only one verified by the American College of Surgeons as a Level 1 Pediatric Trauma Center.  The Trauma Center is staffed by in-house, fellowship-trained attending pediatric surgeons.  The Anesthesiologists and other specialists have extensive experience treating children, and most only take care of children.

CDC Field Triage Guidelines

A level I trauma center offers the highest level of emergency and surgical care to patients, 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year. Phoenix Children’s is equipped to handle the most severe cases in the shortest amount of time. Care is waiting for the patient, instead of the patient having to wait for care. Care at a trauma center lowers the risk of death by 25 percent compared to non-trauma centers. These children also have shorter lengths of stay compared to children cared for at adult trauma centers. Designated trauma centers for children have 24/7 physician specialist coverage for immediate care of the injured child. Pediatric Surgeons of Phoenix works with pediatric surgical, anesthesia, and critical care specialists to provide state of the art care for injured children.

Phoenix Children’s Hospital’s Level 1 Pediatric Trauma Center

The surgeons also provide administrative support for injured children at the Trauma Center at St Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center — Arizona’s first and longest standing American College of Surgeons verified Level 1 Trauma Center.

What is trauma?
Trauma is defined as injury to human tissues and organs resulting from the transfer of energy from the environment.

Who is considered a trauma patient?
A trauma patient is anyone who has suffered an injury. Injuries include bumps and bruises to serious life-threatening physical injuries like bleeding in the head and lacerations to organs.

What are the types of trauma?
There are two major categories of traumatic injury: penetrating and blunt. Penetrating injuries are less common in children, occurring when an object has penetrated the body’s tissues. Blunt injuries are more common in children and occur when an object or force is exerted on the body causing an injury without penetrating the body tissues.

What is a trauma center?
Trauma centers are specially equipped and organized hospitals that for seriously injured patients. Level I Trauma center care guarantees the immediate availability of specialized personnel, equipment, and capabilities 24 hours a day.

Read the CDC Child Injury Report


Very graphic content related to the type of surgery, organs, procedures or trauma depicted in this tab.×